Hollywood Portraits Remastered ~ Pictures and Technique

Posted on

houssemdean:

Tres jolie photos

Originally posted on Photofocus:

The picture above shows the classic Hollywood look that is created when the nose shadow touches the cheek shadow to enclose a triangle of light on the unlit side of the face. The pictures in this post are the result of my summer 2013 project. I started my quest to revitalise the classic Hollywood look 5 years ago back in 2008. I largely abandoned it until along came affordable, continuous lights that have both the all important Fresnel lenses and utilise the magic of daylight balanced LEDs. Now I’m glad to say that this style is well entrenched here in the UK and the Hollywood look has finally been reborn.

01. I took these shots in my studio back in 2008 using tungsten lights and a home made diffusion filter over the lens. These days I use the Tiffen Black Pro Mist 1/4 filter. I find it takes the 'digital edge' off my images without sacrificing detail. 01. I took these shots in my studio back in 2008 using tungsten lights and a home made diffusion filter over the lens. These days I use the Tiffen Black Pro Mist 1/4 filter. I find it takes the ‘digital…

View original 811 more words

Leave a Reply

